Professional Levels

Explore the four distinct professional levels that have been identified as part of the profession map.

Four distinct professional levels have been identified as part of the profession map, providing an indication of the activities and outputs that professionals at different stages of their internal communication career may be involved in or responsible for.

The profession map captures key technical activities and the underpinning skills and knowledge required at each level to deliver those activities. The blend is likely to differ given specific organisational requirements. Dependent on remit, it is likely that individuals will also need core generic business knowledge and skills.

These are likely to include:

  • Budgeting skills
  • Leadership of teams
  • Coaching and developing team members
  • Continuous personal development

These activities and skills do not form part of the framework as it is anticipated that these will be part of general personal development strategies within each organisation.

Find out more about the levels